ACE Discussion Series

In 2021, the American Circus Educators Association is excited to present a bimonthly online discussion series for continuing education and professional development for circus educators. Each session is based on a particular topic and facilitated by a community expert in that topic!

Attendance is FREE to current ACE/AYCO members.
Non-members pay a small sliding-scale fee, $5-20.
Space per session is limited.

Sessions are every other month on the second Tuesday, at 12pm Eastern Time/11am Central Time/10am Mountain Time/9am Pacific Time. The sessions are not recorded in order to create a space where attendees are comfortable participating fully in discussion, though some of the facilitator’s introduction may be recorded and available to registrants after the session.

Tuesday May 11th – Discussing Mental Health

Facilitator: Vanessa Furlong
Vanessa Furlong (she/her) is a professional circus and physical theatre artist specializing in acrobatic stilts, trapeze, and clown. She identifies as a Mad artist (of the Mad Pride movement), and is based in Kjipuktuk/Halifax. A graduate of Bishop’s University (Theatre and Music), Vanessa has toured with multiple performance groups nationally and internationally upon graduating and for the past 2 decades. Vanessa co founded the award winning circus duo LEGacy Circus in 2016 alongside professional circus artist Erin Ball. Together they explore new ways to share their passion for representation and access focused performances using Circus Arts as their medium.

Assistant Facilitator: Anne Boock Miller
Anne Boock Miller, Ph.D., is a clinical neuropsychologist and the founder/artistic director of Suspend, a circus arts studio in Louisville, KY. She has particular interests in neurodevelopmentally appropriate and adaptive circus education, and the use of circus and aerial dance as a tool for therapeutic and cultural change. Anne is also an AYCO/ACE Board Member.

Future Discussions:

Tuesday July 13th – Topic TBA
Tuesday September 12th – Topic TBA
Tuesday November 9th – Topic TBA

Past Discussions:
Tuesday March 9th – Discussing Disability, facilitator: Erin Ball